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Spring Mountain Ranch State Park

2023Special/Commercial Use Permit Guidelines
ALL SPECIAL/COMMERCIAL EVENTS:
1. Special Events are typically allowed on open dates from October 1 through April 30 only. May 1 – September 30 is exclusive to the concessionaire contract and no special events will be permitted. Exceptions may be made for events or uses that do not require the use of the stage facility or event parking area after hours.

2. Must submit a written proposal of event with required insurance at least 90 days prior to event to meet the Board of Examiner deadlines.   It is a good idea to meet in person with park staff to review the proposal.   Based upon the initial approval from park staff, a detailed operations plan will need to be submitted with application prior to being permitted.  
3. Must not interfere with the normal use and enjoyment of the park by the public during open park hours at any time.  Spring Mountain Ranch is a Nationally Registered Historic District and is managed to protect the park’s history and natural resources-including endangered, threatened, and protected species. The Park reserves the right to restrict events and performances to those considered appropriate to the park’s significant natural and historical resources.
4. Shall be in compliance with Nevada Division of State Parks policy 00-19, Nevada Revised Statutes, and Nevada Administrative Codes.
FEES:
1. A $25.00 administrative fee is required with each application.  
2. $1,000.00 event fee per day for use of the stage/Special Event Area.
3. Vehicle entrance fees (collected by park staff) with notice on all tickets stating park entrance fees will be charged of all vehicles.  Participants bussed-in will be charged a $2.00 per person entrance fee. PERMITTEE may be invoiced for entrance fees with advanced approval within the special use permit.
4. Non-profit use may be permitted at a reduced rate.  Please contact park for details.  Non-profits must submit a 501C3 or Federal Tax Exemption with the written proposal to qualify as a non-profit event.  Entrance fees are required of all events.
5. A performance bond, typically in the amount of all potential fees and overtime costs due, plus any potential for damage to park resources, will be required at signing and in the form of a certificate of deposit, payable to Nevada Division of State Parks.
INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS:
1. Minimum of two million dollar ($2,000,000.00) general liability policy.

2. Must provide “State of Nevada, Division of State Parks, Department of Conservation and Natural Resources, it’s officers, employees, and agents is named via endorsement as an additional insured under the terms of this policy” on an ISO form CG 20 10, CG 20 26 or similar.  This language on the insurance certificate is inadequate and will not be accepted.
3. Provide proof of Worker’s Comp insurance with a minimum limit of $500,000.00 each employee per accident for bodily injury by accident or disease.

4. The state is now requiring Business Automobile Liability, Professional Liability, Umbrella or Excess Liability, Commercial Crime Insurance, and a Performance Security Bond.  These limits are set by Risk Management based upon each event.  

5. Insurance provider must be rated as “A-VII” or better and authorized to do business in the state of Nevada.

6. All insurance documents must be provided with the application for approval.  
7. Failure to provide insurance requirements is the #1 reason for event cancellations!
CAPACITY OF EVENTS:

1. 1,000 persons at one time maximum, including vendors, staff, and support.
2. 400 vehicles max or until the event parking lot fills (no parking outside event area). 
3. If the event reaches any capacity, park entrance gates will be closed to further entry to protect the park and resources.  Additional Park staff will be brought in, at PERMITTEE’s expense, for traffic control.  
STAFFING:

1. Requires a minimum of one (1) park staff to monitor the event and park resources; the overtime cost of whom shall be paid by PERMITTEE. 
2. Additional Park staff at the discretion of the park supervisor or as requested by PERMITTEE to facilitate and support event, including Law Enforcement Rangers, at one and one-half pay plus additional STATE costs. These may include entrance station attendants and park cleaning staff.
3. Law enforcement not provided by Nevada Division of State Parks must be provided by the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Dept. Special Events Team during the event for public safety and to protect the park’s natural and historical resources.  LVMPD SE can be reached at (702) 828-3442. Additional officers may be required if deemed necessary by the Park Supervisor, PERMITTEE, or LVMPD Special Events Lieutenant. Permittee is responsible for reimbursing LVMPD SE for their officers’ time.  A copy of the signed contract with LVMPD SE must be submitted to the park supervisor with the signed permit.
4. PERMITTEE may be required to provide visible hosts/security to provide traffic control and security for performers, enforce ticket restrictions, collect tickets, pickup trash, clean restrooms, enforce event rules and minor infractions, report problems, assist guests, and support the event.  These will be event specific and mutually agreed upon by Permittee and Park Supervisor. 
INFRASTRUCTURE:

1. Provide a minimum of one (1) 20yard dumpster-to be paid by permittee, with additional trash collection based upon size and duration of the event.
2. Provide a minimum number of portable restrooms-to be paid by permittee, with additional toilets based upon size and duration of event.
3. PERMITTEE is responsible for all cleaning and trash pickup at the facility, including trash can liners, toilet paper, hand soap, hand towels, etc.  The area is to be returned to the park clean with no litter or trash.  Additional park staff time to cleaning and trash pickup will be billed to PERMITTEE.
SPECIAL USE GUIDELINES AND REGULATIONS:
1. Public performances shall be of family friendly, cultural events appropriate to the venue such as theatre, ballet, dance, Chautauqua, Broadway productions, classical plays, classical music, orchestra, jazz, folk arts, family movies, and other cultural events consistent with past approval.  Popular music genre concerts and festivals such as pop, rock, rap, country, EDM, reggae, etc. are not considered appropriate to the acoustics of Red Rock Canyon NCA and the significant historical, natural, scientific, and scenic resources of the park.  The venue is limited to 1,000 persons maximum per night in order to protect the park’s resources for all visitors and future generations.  
2. No amplified music, noise, speech, or loud sounds may begin prior to 7:00 pm or park closing time, whichever is sooner.  All amplified music, noise, or loud sounds must end prior to 11:00 pm.
3. No alcohol sales or service will be permitted without written approval and permits. 
4. Advise all participants that marijuana is not legal to be consumed in public in the State of Nevada, and marijuana use by anyone within the park will be cited by law enforcement Rangers for public consumption and/or creating a public nuisance.  

5. PERMITTEE is responsible for all county and state health permits for event.

6. All banners, signs, flags, and placards must be approved by the Park Supervisor in advance.  No signs will be allowed from the park entrance up to the entrance station or on Nevada Scenic State Hwy 159.  Any unapproved signs will be immediately removed.
7. No pets will be permitted in the area during the event unless approved in the permit.
8. PERMITTEE must have a designated on-site manager during the event.

9. All park rules and regulations not specifically waived in the permit are in effect during the event.  Attendees, staff, support, volunteers, vendors, etc, must be advised park rules and state laws will be enforced at all times.

10. Event area must be returned cleaned, free of any litter, debris, or obstructions.  Any event that may cause damage to the area or may require rehabilitation to the park’s resources and facilities may be required to submit a maintenance/damage bond in advance of the event.  Any cleanup required by PARK staff will be billed to PERMITTEE. 

11. PERMITTEE may not drive any vehicles, or place any tents or non-personal recreational equipment including, but not limited to, inflatable bounce structures, climbing walls, dunk tanks, etc, on the lawns or pastures without written approval within the special use permit.
12. No overnight use will be permitted.  SMRSP is a designated day-use only facility.

13. All events must conform to OSHA guidelines and state and county regulations, including ADA access.

14. All advertisements must state “in cooperation with Nevada State Parks” and/or display the Nevada State Parks logo.  The park requests at least one poster/advertisement for park archives, if available.
CANCELLATIONS

1. No refunds for cancellations by PERMITTEE or for inclement weather.  PERMITTEE may reschedule the event with the park within one year if alternate dates are available.
2. Refunds will be given for event fee only if event cancelled due to an act of God, including, but not limited to fire, flood, earthquakes, pandemic, or other calamity; an order of the Park Supervisor, state, county, or city peace officers, or other governmental authority acting for the public safety or protection of the public and park resources; a strike, lockout, picketing, job action, civil riot, terrorist act, unruly demonstration, or material or labor restrictions imposed by any governmental authority.  
3. PARKS is not responsible for any other fees, costs, lost revenue, contracts, bills, charges, or other liabilities incurred by PERMITTEE due to cancellation for any reason.  
These guidelines are for reference only.  They have been established to protect and maintain the significant natural, scenic, and historical resources at Spring Mountain Ranch State Park for all visitors.  Each event is different and will require modifications to your permit based upon the type, size, and length of the event.
