Draft Proposed Regulation of the Nevada Division of State Parks April 27, 2021

CHAPTER 407 - STATE PARKS AND OTHER RECREATIONAL AREAS

EXPLANATION – Matter in *italics* is new; matter in brackets [omitted material] is material to be omitted.

Section 1. NAC 407.00605 is hereby amended to read as follows:

407.00605 "All access *annual* permit" defined. "All access *annual* permit" means a permit that, for 12 months, authorizes the holder to enter all parks and use the facilities of the parks without paying the entrance, camping or boating fees imposed pursuant to NAC 407.055.

Sec. 2. NAC 407.0062 is hereby amended to read as follows:

407.0062 "*Day Use* Annual permit" defined. "*Day Use* Annual permit" means a permit which, for 12 months, authorizes the holder to enter a park and use the facilities of the park without paying the entrance fee imposed pursuant to NAC 407.055.

Sec. 3. NAC 407.009 is hereby amended to read as follows:

407.009 ["Park"] "Unit" defined. ["Park"] "Unit" means any area that has been designated as a state park, historic state park, historic site, management area, monument or recreational area and is under the jurisdiction of the Division. "Unit" also applies to any office building used to conduct Division business including Regional Offices and Division Headquarters.

- **Sec. 4.** NAC 407.050 is hereby amended to read as follows:
- 407.050 1. The Division will issue a permit for senior citizens to a person who is a resident of Nevada and applies for such a permit if the person:
 - (a) Is 65 years of age or older;

- (b) Pays a \$30 administrative fee to the Division;
- (c) Provides proof of age and residence in Nevada to the Division; and
- (d) Possesses a Nevada driver's license or an identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
- → A permit for senior citizens authorizes the holder to enter, camp in and boat in all parks for 12 months after the date the permit is issued. The permit does not authorize the use of hook-ups without payment of the fee set forth in this section.
- 2. The Division will issue a permit for disabled veterans to a person who is a resident of Nevada and applies for such a permit if the person:
 - (a) Provides proof to the Division of:
 - (1) [A] Any permanent service-connected disability [of 10 percent or more];
 - (2) The status required by NRS 407.065;
 - (3) An honorable discharge from the Armed Forces of the United States; and
 - (4) Residence in Nevada; and
 - (b) Pays a \$30 administrative fee to the Division.
- → A permit for disabled veterans authorizes the holder to enter, camp in and boat in all parks for 12 months after the date the permit is issued. The permit does not authorize the use of hook-ups without payment of the fee set forth in this section.
- 3. The Division may issue a permit that authorizes the landing of not more than two nonemergency aircraft in designated areas of a park. If the Division issues such a permit, the Division will charge a fee of \$200 per event per day for the permit.
 - 4. The Division will charge and collect the following fees:
- (a) For the use of a facility for the dumping of sewage by a person not camping in the park.....

(b) For the use of the showers by a person not camping in the park.....

The entrance fee for the park.

The entrance fee for the park, not including any additional charges at coin-operated showers.

(c) For making a camping reservation for individual campsites or cabins or related activities in a park designated by the Administrator as being available for camping reservations	Not more than \$25 per reservation for a campsite or cabin, day use or other related activities. This fee does not include any applicable service charges collected by third party reservation system vendors which may be in addition to the applicable use fee.					
(d) For the reservation of stage areas	The fee established by agreement or a special use permit, or both.					
permit for disabled veterans	\$10.					
(f) For the use of a campsite at which a hook-up is available	\$10 per vehicle.					
(g) For entrance into a park for which a fee is charged, an additional fee for all vehicles not registered in the State of Nevada	\$5 per vehicle per day/night					
5. For commercial bus tours, the Division will	I charge and collect the established entrance					
fee or \$2 per person, whichever is greater, or the fe	ee established by a special use permit. A					
special use permit may provide for monthly billing	gs.					
6. For each day or partial day that a person eng	gages in an activity requiring a					
photography permit in a park pursuant to section 3	of this regulation, the Division will					
charge and collect the following fee according to the	ne total number of vehicles or the total number					
of persons, whichever results in a higher fee:						
Number of Vehicles						
or Persons	Fee Per Day					
Class A: 1 to 3 vehicles or 2 to 15 persons	\$50					
Class B: 4 to 7 vehicles or 16 to 30 persons	200					

Class C: 8 to 11 vehicles or 31 to 50 persons	0
Class D: 12 to 15 vehicles or 51 to 75 persons	0
Class E: 16 to 20 vehicles or 76 to 100 persons	0
Class F: 21 to 50 vehicles or 101 to 400 persons	0
Class G: More than 50 vehicles or more than 400 persons	0

- 7. A person may request an annual class A photography permit for the activities that require a photography permit pursuant to section 3 of this regulation. Upon approval of such a request, the Division will charge and collect from the person a fee of \$500. An annual class A photography permit will be recognized at all parks for 12 months after the date of issuance. A person to whom is issued an annual class A photography permit shall:
- (a) Pay the entrance fee required pursuant to NAC 407.055 each time he or she enters a park to engage in an activity requiring a photography permit pursuant to section 3 of this regulation;
- (b) Maintain adequate insurance coverage for the entire period he or she holds such a permit and provide proof to the Division of such coverage;
- (c) Contact in advance the office of the park that he or she intends to use to confirm the availability of the areas where the person intends to engage in an activity requiring a photography permit pursuant to section 3 of this regulation; and
 - (d) Obtain a special use permit if a special use permit is required pursuant NAC 407.053.
- 8. A park supervisor or regional manager in charge of a region in which a park is located may determine the area of the park that can be used under a photography permit.
- 9. A person who has obtained a photography permit may request that the Division reserve an area within the park for use on a specific day in accordance with the terms of the permit. Upon approval of such a request, the Division will charge and collect from the person

a reservation fee of \$100. The reservation fee is in addition to any fee charged and collected pursuant to subsection 6 or 7.

- 10. The Division may not charge an entrance fee for the park for a reporter or other person who is employed in any news media, including, without limitation, newspapers and television.
- 11. If a user of a park does not deposit the required fee in the available self-service devices, the Division:
 - (a) Must charge the user a fee of \$10 for collection service, in addition to other fees; and
 - (b) May file criminal charges against the user for theft as defined in NRS 205.0832.
- 12. For each special use permit or commercial use permit, the Division will charge a processing fee of \$25 in addition to any other fee charged for the permit.
- 13. The Division must reduce by \$1 any entrance fee established pursuant to this chapter charged to a person who upon entrance to the park:
 - (a) Presents a disability placard;
 - (b) Is in a vehicle displaying a special license plate for persons with disabilities;
 - (c) Is in a vehicle displaying a special license plate for veterans; or
- (d) Presents a military identification card issued by any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States.
 - **Sec. 5.** NAC 407.052 is hereby amended to read as follows:
 - 407.052 All access *annual* permits.
 - 1. A person who applies for an all access annual permit will be issued such a permit upon payment of a fee of [\$200] \$250 pursuant to NAC 407.055.
 - 2. An all access *annual* permit issued pursuant to subsection 1 authorizes the holder of the permit to enter, camp in and boat in all parks without paying the entrance, camping and boating fees imposed by NAC 407.055. An all access *annual* permit does not authorize the holder of the permit to *attend special events* or use a hook-up.

Sec. 6 NAC 407.054 is hereby amended to read as follows:

407.054 Limitations on *Day Use* annual permit.

- 1. [An] A Day Use annual permit does not authorize the holder to:
- (a) Engage in camping or boating;
- (b) Attend special events; or
- (c) Use a hook-up.
- 2. The holder of [an] a Day Use annual permit who wishes to engage in camping or boating, to attend special events or to use a hook-up must pay the fee established for the respective activity.

Sec. 7. NAC 407.055 is hereby amended to read as follows:

407.055 1. Except as otherwise provided in NAC 407.050, or unless waived, the Division will charge and collect the following fees for the use of parks:

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Beaver Dam	\$200-\$250	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Berlin-Ichthyosaur	\$200 - <i>\$250</i>	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	Guided Tours: \$5 per person Children 12 and under free
Big Bend of the Colorado	\$ 200 \$250-	\$75 \$100-	\$10	\$10 plus \$10 per vehicle at campsites with utility hook-ups	\$10	N/A	N/A	N/A
Cathedral Gorge	\$200\$250-	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Cave Lake	\$200-\$250	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Dayton	\$200 \$250-	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$75 for 6 to 50 persons \$100 for 51 to 100 persons \$150 for 101 to 150 persons \$200 for 151 or more persons plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A
Echo Canyon	\$200\$250-	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Elgin School House	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Fort Churchill	\$200 \$250-	\$75 \$100-	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Fort Churchill-Buckland Station	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Fort Churchill-Carson River Ranches	\$0	\$0	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Ice Age Fossils	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A		Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Kershaw-Ryan	\$200-\$250	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A
Lahontan	\$200-\$250	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$10	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Lake Tahoe: Cave Rock	\$200-\$250		\$10 or \$2 for 15 min. photo stop	N/A	\$10	N/A	N/A	N/A
Sand Harbor	\$200-\$250	\$75 -\$100	\$10	N/A	\$10	\$400 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Spooner Lake	\$200 <i>\$250</i> -	\$75 -\$100	\$10 plus \$2 per bike for vehicles with more than 4 bikes	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$75 for 1 to 50 persons \$100 for 51 to 100 persons \$150 for 101 to 150 persons	N/A
Van Sickle	\$200 -\$250	\$75 \$100	\$10 plus \$2 per bike for vehicles with more than 4 bikes	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Mormon Station	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$150 for 6 to 50 persons \$200 for 51 to 100 persons \$250 for 101 to 150 persons \$300 for 151 or more persons plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$100 for 6 to 100 persons \$200 for 101 or more persons plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Rye Patch	\$200 - <i>\$250</i>	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
South Fork	\$200-\$250	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Spring Mountain Ranch	\$200\$250-	\$75 \$100	\$10	N/A	N/A	\$200 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A
Spring Valley	\$200 <i>\$250</i> -	\$75 \$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Valley of Fire	\$200-\$250	\$75 \$100	\$10	\$10 plus \$10 per vehicle at campsites with utility hook-ups	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Walker River	\$200\$250	\$75 \$100	\$5	\$10 plus \$10 per vehicle at campsites with utility hook-ups	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A
Ward Charcoal Ovens	\$200 - <i>\$250</i>	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	N/A	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Washoe Lake	\$200-\$25 <i>0</i>	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	Equestrian Group Use \$50 plus the entrance fee per vehicle Main Group Use \$75 for 6 to 50 persons \$100 for 51 to 100 persons \$150 for 101 to 150 persons \$200 for 151 or more persons Plus the entrance fee per vehicle	Equestrian Group Camping \$50 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	\$50 for use of Arena
Wild Horse	\$200\$250-	\$75 -\$100	\$5	\$10	\$5	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Cabins or Yurts	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Rental not to exceed \$150 per night plus the entrance fee per vehicle
Group Lodging								Not to exceed \$2500.00 per day
Statewide Non-Resident Entrance fee								\$5 per vehicle

- 2. A person who pays a camping fee for a park pursuant to subsection 1 is authorized to use the camping facilities of the park from 2 p.m. until 11 a.m.
- 3. A person who pays an entrance fee pursuant to subsection 1 is not authorized to use the facilities of the park from 10 p.m. until 6 a.m. unless the person also pays the camping fee for the

park.

- 4. The Division will charge and collect from each person who rides a bicycle or horse, walks or enters by a nonmotorized vessel into a park an entrance fee of \$2.
 - 5. The Division will not charge a fee for any vehicle that is towed into a park.
- 6. The Division will charge, in addition to any other fee imposed pursuant to this chapter, a fee of \$5 for each watercraft in excess of two that is launched from a boat ramp or set adrift from shore.
- 7. If a person purchases an annual permit to a park for a vehicle, the person may purchase at the same time a second annual permit to the same park at a discounted price equal to one-half of the price of the annual permit. The annual permit purchased at a discounted price must be for a vehicle registered to the same owner at the same residence as the owner of the vehicle for which the permit was purchased at regular price.
- **Sec. 8.** NAC 407.060 is hereby amended to read as follows:
- 407.060 No refund of fees *or permit costs* where privileges rescinded for infractions. Fees charged for the use of a park, *including the cost of annual permits*, will not be refunded if the user's privileges are rescinded *or permits revoked* as a result of the infraction of a park regulation.