CHAPTER 407 - STATE PARKS AND OTHER RECREATIONAL AREAS

GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section 1. "Eastern Region" defined. The "Eastern Region" means the following state parks:

- 1. Beaver Dam State Park;
- 2. Cathedral Gorge State Park;
- 3. Cave Lake State Park;
- 4. Echo Canyon State Park;
- 5. Elgin Schoolhouse State Historic Park;
- 6. Kershaw-Ryan State Park;
- 7. South Folk State Recreation Area;
- 8. Spring Valley State Park;
- 9. Ward Charcoal Ovens State Historic Parks; and
- 10. Wild Horse State Park.

Sec 2. "Large all-terrain vehicle" defined. "Large all-terrain vehicle" has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 490.043.

Sec 3. NAC 407.0088 "Off-highway vehicle" defined. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065) "Offhighway vehicle" means a motorized vehicle of any size that is: has the meaning ascribed to it in NRS 490.060.

- -1. Operated or used exclusively off the roads or highways of this State; and
- <u>2. Not legally equipped for operation or use on such highways.</u>

Sec 4. "Southern Region" defined. The "Southern Region" means the following state parks:

- 1. Big Bend of the Colorado State Recreation Area;
- 2. Ice Age Fossils State Park;
- 3. Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort State Park;
- 4. Spring Mountain Ranch State Park; and
- 5. Valley of Fire State Park.

Sec 5. "Tahoe Region" defined. The "Tahoe Region" means the Lake Tahoe Nevada State Park.

Sec 6. "Western Region" defined. The "Western Region" means the following state parks:

- 1. Berlin-Ichthyosaur State Park;
- 2. Dayton State Park;
- 3. Fort Churchill State Historic Park;
- 4. Lahontan State Recreation Area;
- 5. Mormon Station State Historic Park;
- 6. Rye Patch State Recreation Area;
- 7. Walker River State Recreation Area; and
- 8. Washoe Lake State Park.

PERMITS AND FEES

Sec 7. NAC 407.050 Permits for senior citizens, disabled veterans, commercial photography non-emergency aircraft, and certain types of photography-and nonemergency aircraft; miscellaneous fees. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065)

1. The Division will issue a permit for senior citizens to a person who is a resident of Nevada and applies for such a permit if the person:

(a) Is 65 years of age or older;

(b) Has continuously resided in this State for the 5 years immediately preceding the date on which the person submits the application;

(c) (b) Pays a \$30 administrative fee to the Division;

(d) (c) Provides proof of age and residence in Nevada to the Division; and

(e) (d) Possesses a Nevada driver's license or an identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles.

 \rightarrow A permit for senior citizens authorizes the holder to enter, camp in and boat in all parks for 12 months after the date the permit is issued. The permit does not authorize the use of hook-ups without payment of the fee set forth in this section.

2. The Division will issue a permit for disabled veterans to a person who is a resident of Nevada and applies for such a permit if the person:

(a) Provides proof to the Division of:

- (1) A permanent service-connected disability of 10 percent or more;
- (2) The status required by <u>NRS 407.065;</u>
- (3) An honorable discharge from the Armed Forces of the United States; and
- (4) Residence in Nevada; and
- (b) Pays a \$30 administrative fee to the Division.

 \rightarrow A permit for disabled veterans authorizes the holder to enter, camp in and boat in all parks for 12 months after the date the permit is issued. The permit does not authorize the use of hook-ups without payment of the fee set forth in this section.

3. The Division may issue a permit that authorizes the landing of not more than two nonemergency aircraft in designated areas of a park. If the Division issues such a permit, the Division will charge a fee of \$200 per event per day for the permit.

4. The Division will charge and collect the following fees:

(a) For the use of a facility for the dumping of sewage by a person not camping in the park	The entrance fee for the park.
(b) For the use of the showers by a person not camping in the park	The entrance fee for the park, not including any additional charges at coin-operated showers.
(c) For making a camping reservation for individual campsites or cabins or related activities in a park designated by the Administrator as being available for camping reservations	Not more than \$25 per reservation for a campsite or cabin, day use or other related activities.

(d) For the reservation of stage areas	The fee established by agreement or a special use permit, or both.
(e) To replace an all access permit, an annual permit, a permit for senior citizens or a permit for disabled veterans	\$10.
(f) For the use of a campsite at which a hook-up is available	\$10 per vehicle.

5. For commercial bus tours, the Division will charge and collect the established entrance fee or \$2 per person, whichever is greater, or the fee established by a special use permit. A special use permit may provide for monthly billings.

6. For each day or partial day that a person engages in commercial photography activity *requiring a photography permit* in a park, the Division will charge and collect the following fee according to the total number of vehicles or the total number of persons, whichever results in a higher fee:

Number of Vehicles or Persons

Fee Per Day

Class A: 1 to 3 vehicles or 2 to 15 persons	\$50
Class B: 4 to 7 vehicles or 16 to 30 persons	200
Class C: 8 to 11 vehicles or 31 to 50 persons	350
Class D: 12 to 15 vehicles or 51 to 75 persons	500
Class E: 16 to 20 vehicles or 76 to 100 persons	800
Class F: 21 to 50 vehicles or 101 to 400 persons	2,100
Class G: More than 50 vehicles or more than 400 persons	3,500

7. A person may request an annual class A commercial photography permit. Upon approval of such a request, the Division will charge and collect from the person a fee of \$500. An annual class A commercial photography permit will be recognized at all parks for 12 months after the date of issuance. A person to whom is issued an annual class A commercial photography permit shall:

(a) Pay the entrance fee required pursuant to <u>NAC 407.055</u> each time he or she enters a park to engage in commercial photography;

(b) Maintain adequate insurance coverage for the entire period he or she holds such a permit and provide proof to the Division of such coverage; and

(c) Contact in advance the office of the park that he or she intends to use to confirm the availability of the areas where the person intends to engage in commercial photography.

8. A park supervisor or regional manager in charge of a region in which a park is located may determine the area of the park that can be used under a commercial photography permit.

9. A person who has obtained a commercial photography permit may request that the Division reserve an area within the park for use on a specific day in accordance with the terms of the permit. Upon approval of such a request, the Division will charge and collect from the person a reservation

fee of \$100. The reservation fee is in addition to any fee charged and collected pursuant to subsection 6 or 7.

10. The Division will not charge:

(a) A fee, other than the entrance fee for the park, pursuant to this section for photography engaged in for noncommercial, educational purposes, to promote the park.

(b) An entrance fee for the park for a reporter or other person who is employed in any news media, including, without limitation, newspapers and television.

11. If a user of a park does not deposit the required fee in the available self-service devices, the Division:

(a) Will charge the user a fee of \$10 for collection service, in addition to other fees; and

(b) May file criminal charges against the user for theft as defined in <u>NRS 205.0832</u>.

12. For each special use permit or commercial use permit, the Division will charge a processing fee of \$25 in addition to any other fee charged for the permit.

13. The Division will reduce by \$1 any entrance fee established pursuant to this chapter charged to a person who holds a disability placard and presents it upon entrance to a park. upon entrance to a park:

a. Presents a disability placard;

b. Displays an affixed disabled persons license plate;

c. Displays an affixed veterans license plate; or

d. Presents military issued identification upon entrance to a park.

Sec 8. NAC 407.052 All access permits. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065)

1. A person who applies for an all access permit will be issued such a permit upon payment of a fee of \$200 pursuant to <u>NAC 407.055</u>.

2. An all access permit issued pursuant to subsection 1 authorizes the holder of the permit to enter, camp in and boat in all parks without paying the entrance, camping and boating fees imposed by <u>NAC 407.055</u>. An all access permit does not authorize the holder of the permit to use a hook-up.

Sec 9. Activities requiring a photography permit.

1. A person or entity shall obtain a division-issued photography permit for a film or photography project when the film or photography project:

a. Involves commercial photography;

b. May impact a park's natural, cultural or recreational resources or disrupt or interfere with visitors' use and enjoyment;

c. Uses actors, models, special effects, vehicles, sets or props;

d. Requires entry into areas closed to visitors;

e. Involves articles of commerce for the purpose of commercial advertising; or

f. Requires closure of all or part of a park.

2. A photography permit is not required:

a. When using a camera or other audio or video recording device for a person or entity's use in areas open to visitors;

b. When filming, photographing or audio recording a news event that occurs in a park;

c. For commercial photography engaged in by one person, if they are without actors, models, special effects, vehicles, sets or props; or

d. When a photography permit is not required pursuant to Subsection 1, a special use permit may be required pursuant to NRS 407.0475, NAC 407.065, 407.088, depending on the scope of the activity.

Sec 10. NAC 407.055 Fees for use of parks. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065)

1. Except as otherwise provided in $\underline{NAC 407.050}$, or unless waived, the Division will charge and collect the following fees for the use of parks:

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Beaver Dam	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Berlin-Ichthyosaur	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	Guided Tours: \$5 per person Children 12 and under free
Big Bend of the Colorado	\$200	\$75	\$10	\$10 plus \$10 per vehicle at campsites with utility hook-ups	\$10	N/A	N/A	N/A
Cathedral Gorge	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Cave Lake	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Dayton	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$75 for 6 to 50 persons \$100 for 51 to 100 persons \$150 for 101 to 150 persons \$200 for 151 or more persons plus the entrance fee per vehicle		N/A
Echo Canyon	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Elgin School House	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Fort Churchill	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Fort Churchill-Buckland Station	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Fort Churchill-Carson River Ranches	\$0	\$0	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Ice Age Fossils	N/A	N/A	N/A	<i>N/A</i>	N/A	N/A	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Kershaw-Ryan	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A
Lahontan	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$10	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Lake Tahoe: Cave Rock	\$200	\$75	\$10 or \$2 for 15 min. photo stop	N/A	\$10	N/A	N/A	N/A
Sand Harbor	\$200	\$75	\$10	N/A	\$10	\$400 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A
Spooner Lake	\$200	\$75	\$10 plus \$2 per bike for vehicles with more than 4 bikes	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$75 for 1 to 50 persons \$100 for 51 to 100 persons \$150 for 101 to 150 persons	N/A
Van Sickle	\$200	\$75	\$10 plus \$2 per bike for vehicles with more than 4 bikes	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Mormon Station	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$150 for 6 to 50 persons \$200 for 51 to 100 persons \$250 for 101 to 150 persons \$300 for 151 or more persons plus the entrance fee per vehicle		Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Old Las Vegas Mormon Fort	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	\$100 for 6 to 100 persons \$200 for 101 or more persons plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Rye Patch	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
South Fork	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Spring Mountain Ranch	\$200	\$75	\$10	N/A	N/A	\$200 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	N/A	N/A
Spring Valley	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Tule Springs	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Museum admission: \$3 adults children 12 and under free
Valley of Fire	\$200	\$75	\$10	\$10 plus \$10 per vehicle at campsites with utility hook-ups	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance fee per vehicle	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Walker River	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10 plus \$10 per vehicle at campsites with	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A

Park	All Access Permit Fee	Annual Permit Fee	Entrance Fee Per Vehicle	Camping Fee Per Vehicle	Boating Fee Per Vehicle	Day Use Group Fee Per Day	Group Camping Reservation Fee Per Day	Miscellaneous Fees
Ward Charcoal Ovens	\$200	\$75	\$5	utility hook-ups \$10	N/A	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Washoe Lake	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	Equestrian Group Use \$50 plus the entrance fee per vehicle Main Group Use \$75 for 6 to 50 persons \$100 for 51 to 100 persons \$150 for 101 to 150 persons \$200 for 151 or more persons Plus the entrance fee per vehicle	Equestrian Group Camping \$50 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	
Wild Horse	\$200	\$75	\$5	\$10	\$5	N/A	\$25 plus the entrance and camping fees per vehicle	N/A
Cabins or Yurts	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	N/A	Rental not to exceed \$150 per night plus the entrance fee per vehicle

2. The check-in time for overnight camping use shall be 2p.m and the check-out time shall be shall be 11a.m.

2. 3. A person who pays an entrance fee pursuant to subsection 1 is not authorized to use the facilities of the park from 10 p.m. until 6 a.m. unless the person also pays the camping fee for the park.

3. 4. The Division will charge and collect from each person who rides a bicycle or horse, walks or enters by a nonmotorized vessel into a park an entrance fee of \$2.

4.5. The Division will not charge a fee for any vehicle that is towed into a park.

5. 6. The Division will charge, in addition to any other fee imposed pursuant to this chapter, a fee of \$5 for each watercraft in excess of two that is launched from a boat ramp or set adrift from shore.

-6.7. If a person purchases an annual permit to a park for a vehicle, the person may purchase at the same time a second annual permit to the same park at a discounted price equal to one-half of the price of the annual permit. The annual permit purchased at a discounted price must be for a vehicle registered to the same owner at the same residence as the owner of the vehicle for which the permit was purchased at regular price.

GENERAL RESTRICTIONS ON USE

Sec 11. NAC 407.080 Camping. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065)

1. A person shall not camp:

(a) In a place restricted to use during the day or in an area not designated as a camping area unless approved by the supervisor of the park; or

(b) For more than 14 days in a 30-day period unless a longer or shorter time is designated *specified*:

(*i*) by the supervisor of the park and is approved by the regional manager of the region in which the park is located—; *or*

(ii) in NAC 407.211 to NAC 407.380, inclusive.

2. Unless a campsite is reserved, camping is on a first-come, first-served basis.

3. If the applicable fee has not been paid or if the time for occupancy has expired, the occupant of a campsite shall remove any property of the occupant from the campsite by 2 p.m. on the day the fee is due or by the time designated by the supervisor of the park.

4. The occupant of a campsite shall not leave it unoccupied overnight without the permission of the supervisor of the park.

5. No more than two motorized vehicles, a combination of a motorized vehicle and a towed vehicle, or eight persons may occupy one campsite unless the supervisor of the park:

- (a) Authorizes a greater number of vehicles;
- (b) Restricts parking to fewer than two vehicles; or
- (c) Restricts the occupancy of a campsite to fewer than eight persons.
- 6. A person may not save a campsite for use by other persons.

Sec 12. NAC 407.110 Sanitation. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065) No person may:

1. Use any trash can or other facility for refuse in a park to dispose of garbage or other waste brought into the park.

2. Clean fish, food, clothing or kitchenware at any place that the supervisor of the park has not authorized for that use.

3. No person shall permit or cause to be placed any bodily waste, wastewater, sewage, effluent, discharge from sinks, toilets, or other plumbing fixtures, container, holding tank, oil, fuel, or other hazardous, obnoxious, or offensive substance upon the ground or water within any Nevada State Park or Recreational Area.

Sec 13. NAC 407.120 Vehicles, trailers and other personal property: Prohibited acts. (NRS 407.0475, 407.065) Unless authorized by the supervisor of the park, a person shall not:

- 1. Park any vehicle or trailer in any area not designated as a parking area;
- 2. Park any vehicle or trailer in more than one parking space at a time;
- 3. Park any vehicle or trailer overnight;
- 4. Leave any personal property in the park overnight; or

5. Except as otherwise provided in <u>NAC 407.122</u>, drive a snowmobile, all terrain vehicle offhighway vehicle, motorcycle or moped, or ride a bicycle, motorized skateboard or skateboard, or drive or ride any other vehicle on a trail, or in any area which has not been specifically designated or developed for that use.

Sec 14. NAC 407.145 Curfew. (<u>NRS 407.0475</u>, <u>407.065</u>)

1. The ranger Administrator or his or her designee in charge of a region may declare a curfew for juveniles in any park or part of a park upon finding that it is necessary for the protection of the safety and welfare of the public. The order for the curfew must:

(a) Specify the hours of the curfew;

(b) Specify the length of time the order is in effect; and

(c) Be posted in a conspicuous place in the park.

2. If a curfew has been ordered, no juvenile may enter or remain in the park during the period of the curfew unless the juvenile is:

(a) Accompanied by a parent or guardian;

(b) Part of a group which is authorized to occupy the park and is supervised by at least 1 adult for each 10 juveniles; or

(c) Lawfully camping and has furnished to the ranger in the park the written consent of his or her parent or guardian which includes, without limitation, the full name, address and telephone number of the parent or guardian and the dates for which permission to camp is granted.

Sec 15. NAC 407.270 Fort Churchill State Historic Park. (<u>NRS 407.0475</u>, <u>407.065</u>) Within Fort Churchill State Historic Park, a person shall not: <u>pass over or under, or damage any</u> fence of the Park.:

Pass over or under, or damage any fence of the Park; or
Camp for more than 7 days in any 30-day period.

NAC 407.380 Western Region. Within the Western Region, a person shall not camp for more than 14 days in a 30-day period.

CHAPTER 407A – OUTDOOR RECREATION [new chapter]

Sec 16. Purpose and authority. The purpose of the Outdoor Education and Recreation Grant Program is to provide funds for outdoor environmental, ecological, agricultural, or other natural resource-based education and recreation programs serving pupils of the State of Nevada. The purpose of this chapter is to establish administrative procedures and set forth criteria and funding requirements by which the Division of State Parks will award outdoor education and recreation grant funds and set conditions related to the use of grant funds. This grant program is governed by this chapter and by NRS 407A.200 to 407A.23, inclusive.

Sec 17. Definitions. As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise requires, the words and terms defined in NAC 407A.xx to 407A.xx, inclusive, have the meanings ascribed to them in those sections.

Sec 18. NAC 407A.XX "Administrator" defined. "Administrator" means the Administrator of the Division of State Parks or the Administrator's designee.

Sec 19. "Applicant" defined. "Applicant" means a person or entity who qualifies to apply and applies to the Division for a grant.

Sec 20. "Division" defined. "Division" means the Division of State Parks.

Sec 21. "Outdoor education and recreation" defined. "Outdoor education and recreation" means an approach to education and recreation via connectivity and direct experiences in the outdoors; to teach, inspire wonder and creativity while learning from our natural resources and recreational experiences in conjunction with what students are taught in traditional classroom settings.

Sec 22. "Technical Advisory Committee" defined. "Technical Advisory Committee" means the committee formed by the Administrator pursuant section 2 of NRS 407A.225 for the purpose of advising the Administrator in administering the Outdoor Recreation Grant Program priorities pursuant to NRS 407A.220(2)(c).

Grant From Account for Outdoor Education And Recreation

Sec 23. Criteria for eligibility to receive grants. (NRS 407A.200)

1. Federal, state and local governments, private nonprofit organizations, federally recognized tribes, formal school programs, home schools, charter schools, informal after school programs, and community-based programs within the State of Nevada or that serve pupils of the state are eligible to apply for grants under this chapter.

- 2. Eligible program activities may include, without limitation the following activities:
 - (a) Outdoor recreation;
 - (b) Outdoor environmental studies;
 - (c) Agricultural;
 - (d) Natural resource based;
 - (e) Conservation;
 - (f) Ecological;
 - (g) Stewardship; or
 - (h) Restoration.
- 3. Ineligible program activities for grant funding include:
 - (a) Activities that may be perceived to lobby or advocate for political purposes;
 - (b) Activities that are not in compliance with local, state and federal laws; or
 - (c) Organized youth sports such as a community league or school team.

Sec 24. Limitations on the availability and use of funds.

1. The Administrator may establish limitations on the availability and use of program funds. Any limitations shall be defined in the current application instructions.

- 2. The Administrator shall establish such limitations only after considering the following:
 - (a) Consistency with the legislative intent of NRS 407A.200 to 407A.235, inclusive; and (b) Availability of funds.

3. The Administrator may review grant applications under \$5,000 in lieu of review by the Technical Advisory Committee in an effort to reduce administrative costs of the program.

4. The Administrator may determine that applicants be required to make a matching contribution to be eligible for funding.

5. The Administrator may limit the amount of funding available for any element(s) of a grant application.

Sec 25. Applications for grants. (NRS 407A.200) In order to be eligible for receipt of a grant under this chapter, an applicant must complete and submit an application form provided by the Division and follow the instructions provided in the form.

Sec 26. Technical Advisory Committee (NRS 407A.225)

1. The Technical Advisory Committee consists of the following eight voting members appointed by the Administrator:

(a) The Administrator of the Division of Outdoor Recreation;

(b) One member who represents a State agency, including, without limitation:

(i) A designee from the Department of Wildlife;

(ii) A designee from the Department of Environmental Protection;

(iii) A designee from the Division of Forestry;

(iv) A designee from the Division of State Parks; or

(v) A designee from Department of Health and Human Services.

(c) One member who represents local government;

(d) One member who represents a public school or school district;

(e) One member who represents a private school or charter school;

(f)One member who represents a private nonprofit organization or community-based program;

(g) One member who represents the outdoor business community; and

(h) One member who has participated in an outdoor recreation and education grant program funded by a grant award pursuant to NRS 407A.220.

→ The Grant Program Manager shall serve as the Executive Secretary to the Technical Advisory Committee.

2. Each member of the Committee serves at the pleasure of the Administrator for a term of 2 years and is eligible for reappointment to the Technical Advisory Committee.

3. A Chair and Vice Chair shall be determined by a majority vote of the members of the Technical Advisory Committee.

4. For each periodic solicitation of grant applications the Technical Advisory Committee shall:

(a) Evaluate completed applications in accordance with eligibility requirements, limitations, and evaluation criteria including, without limitation feasibility of project, estimated costs and benefits to the pupils of Nevada pursuant to the criteria and priorities listed in the subsection 1 of NRS 407A.220 and NRS 407A.220(2)(c);

(b) Recommend to the Administrator the amount of a grant, if any, for the project;

(c) Rank each application received in order of priority for awarding grants. A matching contribution is not required to apply for a grant, but applications that include a matching contribution, including, without limitation, cash or in-kind matches, may receive a higher ranking by the Technical Advisory Committee; and

(d) Provide the Administrator a ranked list of applicants, including the recommended amount of the grant for the project.

Sec 27. Determination of award of grant. The Administrator will:

- 1. Consider the grant applications in the order they were ranked by the Technical Advisory Committee;
- 2. Determine whether, and in what amount, to award a grant to an applicant; and
- 3. Post on the Division's internet website any grants it awards not later than 5 business days after making those awards.

Sec 28. Use of grant funds. The following conditions apply to the use of the grant funds:

- 1. For every funded project, an agreement must be executed on behalf of the Division and by the funding recipient.
- 2. Generally, the funding recipient will not be reimbursed for costs incurred prior to the execution of the agreement by both parties at the sole discretion of the Administrator.
- 3. The funding recipient shall submit a report required by the Division as directed in the funding agreement.
- 4. In accepting project funding, the funding recipient agrees to and certifies compliance with all applicable federal and state laws, regulations and policies.
- 5. Funding recipients will maintain accurate accounting records on the expenditure of project funds, provide Division with these records consistent with the agreement or upon request, and will permit Division to audit the use of funds in accordance with generally accepted audit practices and standards. The Division reserves the right to terminate its participation in any project which fails to perform according to the requirements of this chapter.